The Seven Summits

The highest peak on each continent.

... or just an excuse to see our world and its cultures.


The Seven Summits — 

The Seven Summits — 

The Seven Summits — 

Mount Everest

Mount Everest
Tibet / Nepal
8,850m / 29,035 ft
Summit: May 15, 2006

Known as “Goddess Mother of the Earth” to the Tibetans, and “Goddess of the Sky” to the Nepalese, Everest is by far the most challenging of the Seven Summits. At 8,850 meters, it is the highest mountain in the world, and stretches the limits of even the finest climbers.

Carstensz Pyramid Indonesia

Carstensz Pyramid
Papua / New Guinea
Sudirman Range
4,884m / 16,024ft
Summit: Dec. 7, 2005

Surrounded by dense jungle inhabited by tribal people, Carstensz is the highest mountain on the Australasian continent. It poses a long and steep limestone climb, and although it is the lowest of the Seven Summits, it is arguably the most technical.

Mount Elbrus

Mount Elbrus
5,642m / 18,510ft
Summit: July 3, 2005

Located at the southern edge of Russia between the Black and Caspian seas, this extinct, two-headed volcano was off limits to most climbers until the mid 1980s. The valleys below Elbrus are covered with alpine forests of gracious tall trees, green meadows and beautiful multicolored flowers.

Vinson Massif

Vinson Massif
Sentinel Range
4,897m / 16,023ft
Summit: Dec. 26, 2004

Vinson lies deep within Antarctica, the highest, driest, coldest, windiest, and emptiest place on earth. Only its top half protrudes from the ice sheet that covers 98% of the continent. At its thickest point that ice sheet is over 4,700 meters deep and constitutes 90% of all the world’s ice by volume and 70% of our fresh water on the planet.



South America
6,960m / 22,834ft
Summit: Jan. 19, 2004

As the highest peak in the western and southern hemispheres, Aconcagua is the tallest mountain in the world outside of Asia, and the 2nd highest of the Seven Summits. The name Aconcagua means “Stone Sentinel”, and it overlooks the Andean chain just inside Argentina’s border with Chile.


North America
Denali (formerly known as Mount McKinley)
Alaska Range
6,194m / 20,320ft
Summit: June 17, 2003

With one of the greatest vertical gains in the world, McKinley is a tough challenge, and ranks second of the Seven Summits on the difficulty scale. The mountain was only recently given back its Athabaskan name “Denali”, which righteously means “the high one”. It lies just south of the Arctic Circle, and from its peak, a wild and untamed Alaskan plain reveals itself.


5,895m / 19,340ft
Summit: Nov. 2, 2001

Overlooking the spectacular, hot, dry plains of the Masai steppe, yet capped by snow, Kilimanjaro is the least challenging of the Seven Summits, making it one of the most famous ones. At 5,895 meters, this Tanzanian volcano close to the border with Kenya is the highest freestanding mountain in the world.


Follow Max On Instagram